US Cellular Android Phones: What to Buy Now It’s T-Mobile
T-Mobile bought UScellular's wireless business in 2025 and moved its customers over in 2026. What that means for your phone, and which Android to buy now.
There is no UScellular shop left to buy a phone from. T-Mobile owns the customers and the stores, and the uscellular.com address forwards to T-Mobile’s website. The Android phone for a UScellular number is now one that T-Mobile sells, or an unlocked phone that works on T-Mobile’s network.
Our picks are the Samsung Galaxy A37 5G for most people and the Samsung Galaxy A17 5G on a budget. T-Mobile lists both, and Samsung sells both unlocked, at $489.99 and $269.99. Oscar Frank, who runs this site, bought and used both, along with the Galaxy A07, A27 and A57. The lowest full price T-Mobile’s own pages state for an Android phone is about $190, for the Motorola moto g 2026.
We read T-Mobile’s and UScellular’s pages in the most recent copies kept by the Internet Archive. T-Mobile’s phone pages load their prices separately and the saved copies hold none, so the T-Mobile prices below are the full prices printed in the terms on its deals pages.
Some links on this page go to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What happened to UScellular
- 28 May 2024: T-Mobile announced it had agreed to buy almost all of UScellular’s wireless operations: the customers, the stores and part of the spectrum.
- 1 August 2025: the deal closed. T-Mobile’s announcement counted more than four million customers and a price of about $4.3 billion, and said the UScellular brand would move to T-Mobile in phases.
- The same day, what was left of the company renamed itself Array Digital Infrastructure. Its annual report gives the date, and its shares now trade as AD. Array owns about 4,400 mobile towers and the spectrum it kept. It offers those towers to carriers and sells no phone service.
- Summer 2026: UScellular’s help page said the two networks had been joined and that accounts would move to T-Mobile’s systems over the summer. Prepaid went first. UScellular stopped taking refills, with a last day of service between 16 June and 15 July.
- From 1 September: accounts that could not be moved were cancelled. In the Internet Archive’s copies from 10 September on, uscellular.com forwards to T-Mobile’s home page.
UScellular’s page said its stores would go on serving customers while they were changed over to T-Mobile’s look. T-Mobile’s store locator is now the way to find one.
If you were a UScellular customer
Your account was moved. You are a T-Mobile customer now. UScellular’s page said the move would not change your number, your billing date or your tenure, would carry no fee, and was not expected to raise your monthly cost or cut your plan’s benefits. T-Mobile’s welcome page says the old UScellular login does not carry over. You sign in with a T-Mobile ID in its T-Life app, and AutoPay settings came across with the account. Voicemail moved too, and *86 no longer reaches it: hold 1 or dial 123.
You had a letter saying the account would not move. T-Mobile’s page for those customers says the account was cancelled on 1 September, with up to 30 days of network connection at no charge. After 30 September the phone can only call 911. The number can still be saved. T-Mobile says you have up to 60 days from the 1 September cancellation to contact it and restart service, and that after those 60 days the number is lost for good. Call T-Mobile or go to a store.
You were on prepaid. UScellular Prepaid has ended. Its help page told customers to move the number to T-Mobile or another carrier before their last day. It said balances under $1,000 would follow customers who switched to T-Mobile, and that an unused UScellular refill card can be redeemed on a T-Mobile Prepaid account.
Will a UScellular phone work on T-Mobile
Most do, on the word of both companies.
- The phone. UScellular’s page said most devices recently bought or upgraded through UScellular would keep working as the networks came together, and advised keeping the software up to date. T-Mobile’s closing announcement said nearly all UScellular customer devices would continue to work.
- The SIM. UScellular said most customers would not need a new SIM or eSIM, and that anyone who did had been told by email, post or text message.
- The lock. UScellular’s unlocking policy kept an Android phone bought outright locked for 40 days, and one on instalments locked until it was paid off, then unlocked it automatically. Prepaid Android phones were not locked. T-Mobile’s unlock page sends UScellular customers to that policy.
- Any other phone. T-Mobile’s bring-your-own-phone page has a checker. Dial *#06# for the phone’s IMEI number and enter it. The answer is compatible, partially compatible or incompatible.
If a notice told you the phone or its SIM had to be replaced, that is the case for buying a new one. Otherwise there is no need to.
Android phones at T-Mobile
These Android phones were on T-Mobile’s phones page in the Internet Archive’s latest copy. “Not stated” means the saved pages give no T-Mobile price. The maker’s price is the list price of the unlocked model on the maker’s own US store.
| Phone | T-Mobile’s full price | Maker’s unlocked price | Deal T-Mobile was advertising |
|---|---|---|---|
| Motorola moto g 2026 | about $190 | $299.99 | On us with an eligible trade-in, in any condition, on Essentials Saver |
| T-Mobile Revvl 8 Pro | about $250 | T-Mobile’s own brand | On us with a new line on most plans |
| Samsung Galaxy A17 5G | Not stated | $269.99 | Tagged as a free-phone deal, terms not shown |
| Motorola moto g stylus 2026 | about $310 | $499.99 | Under $10 with a new line on most plans |
| Samsung Galaxy A37 5G | Not stated | $489.99 | None on the pages we read |
| Google Pixel 10a | Not stated | $599 | None on the pages we read |
| Samsung Galaxy A57 5G | about $600 | $599.99 | On us with a new line on most plans |
| Samsung Galaxy S26 FE, 256GB | about $800 | $799.99 | On us with a new line on most plans |
| Google Pixel 11 | about $900 | $899 | On us with a new line or a trade-in on most plans |
| Samsung Galaxy S26 | about $900 | $999.99 | On us with a trade-in on Experience More |
| Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra | about $1,300 | $1,399.99 | Under $200 with a new line on Experience More or Beyond |
T-Mobile also lists the Galaxy A36 5G, the Galaxy S25 range, the Pixel 9, 9a and 10, Motorola’s razr phones, the TCL NXTPAPER 70 Pro and Samsung’s folding phones.
Two cautions. The deals are limited-time offers, so confirm them at checkout. And T-Mobile’s Galaxy S26 figures match Samsung’s launch prices, while Samsung’s own store now lists each S26 phone at $100 more. T-Mobile may have followed.
How T-Mobile’s phone deals work
“On us” does not mean the phone is handed over free. T-Mobile’s terms describe a finance agreement at the full price, paid back to you as a bill credit each month for up to 36 months. On the Galaxy A57 5G at about $600, that is about $16.67 a month.
The same terms say that if you cancel the account before the credits finish, they stop and the balance is due. Paying the phone off early ends the credits too. Tax on the full price is due at the sale, with a $35 device connection charge. Most of these deals need a new line, and the larger ones need a trade-in or one of the dearer Experience plans.
T-Mobile’s unlock policy unlocks a phone on a monthly plan once it has been active for 40 days and is paid in full.
Which Android phone to buy
On a budget: Samsung Galaxy A17 5G
Oscar’s budget pick of the five Galaxy A phones. Samsung gives it a 6.7-inch Super AMOLED screen, a stabilised main camera and six years of updates, and T-Mobile’s listing tags it as one of its free-phone deals. Unlocked from Samsung it is $269.99.
For most people: Samsung Galaxy A37 5G
The one Oscar would tell almost everybody to buy: a bright 120Hz screen, an IP68 rating, 45W charging and six years of updates. T-Mobile lists it. Samsung’s unlocked price is $489.99, and its store has had it on offer for less. The comparison of this year’s Galaxy A phones has the detail on all five.
Adding a line: Samsung Galaxy A57 5G
Oscar rates the A57 the best Galaxy A phone Samsung has made and poor value at $599.99, because it shares its battery, charging, water resistance and update promise with the A37. T-Mobile’s deal removes the price objection if you were opening a new line anyway. You are then tied to that line for 36 months of credits.
The lowest price: Motorola moto g 2026
About $190 at T-Mobile, against $299.99 on Motorola’s own store, which was selling it at $249.99. Motorola lists a 6.7-inch 720p LCD screen and a 5,200mAh battery, and states no number of updates. Buy it for the price. The A17 5G has the better screen and the longer support.
The longest support: Google Pixel 10a
Google promises seven years of updates, a year more than Samsung’s Galaxy A phones, and sells it unlocked at $599. T-Mobile lists it, with no price in the saved pages.
A small Android phone
None of these is small. The most compact Android phones on T-Mobile’s list are the Pixel 10a, the Pixel 11 and the Galaxy S26, each with a 6.3-inch screen on its maker’s spec sheet.
Buying unlocked for a T-Mobile line
Paying the maker in full leaves you free of bill credits. The makers say different things about T-Mobile. Motorola’s carrier table marks T-Mobile compatible, with 5G, VoLTE and Wi-Fi calling. Google says its unlocked Pixels work with any major carrier. Samsung’s buy pages name no network, though its store sells T-Mobile versions of the A17 5G and A37 5G. Run the IMEI through T-Mobile’s checker inside the return period, which is 15 days at Samsung.
- Samsung Galaxy A17 5G unlocked on Amazon
- Samsung Galaxy A37 5G unlocked on Amazon
- Moto G 2026 unlocked on Amazon
- Google Pixel 10a unlocked on Amazon
Our guide to unlocked Android phones and the networks they work on compares more of them by price. If you were on UScellular Prepaid and want a low bill on the same network, T-Mobile also owns Mint Mobile, and we cover Mint’s phones and plans separately.
Quick answers
Is US Cellular now T-Mobile?
For phone service, yes. T-Mobile bought UScellular’s customers and stores on 1 August 2025. The company that remains is Array Digital Infrastructure, which owns towers.
Will my US Cellular phone work on T-Mobile?
Most will. UScellular said most recently bought phones would keep working, and T-Mobile said nearly all would. T-Mobile’s IMEI checker gives the answer for a particular phone.
Do I need a new SIM card?
Usually not. UScellular said most customers would not need a new SIM or eSIM and that those who did were told by email, post or text.
Can I still buy a phone from US Cellular?
No. The uscellular.com address forwards to T-Mobile, and T-Mobile’s shop is the one that sells to former UScellular customers.
What is the best Android phone for a former US Cellular customer?
The Samsung Galaxy A37 5G for most people, and the Galaxy A17 5G on a budget. T-Mobile lists both and Samsung sells both unlocked.
Prices and deals change, so confirm on T-Mobile’s or the maker’s store before you pay.