Unlimited Data Plans in Nigeria: Prices and Limits (2026)

No Nigerian network sells unlimited data for a phone. Router and fibre plans start at ₦13,194 a month, and most slow down after a set number of gigabytes.

If fibre reaches your street, take it. FiberOne, ipNX and MTN FibreX each sell a month of home internet with no data cap, and FiberOne’s Lagos plans begin at ₦17,604. Where there is no fibre, the choice is a router plan from MTN, Airtel, Glo, Spectranet or Smile, and on most of those “unlimited” means full speed up to a set figure and a much slower line after it.

That figure is called the fair usage policy, or FUP, and it matters more than the price. We went through each provider’s own plan pages and took down the price, the speed, the limit and what happens once you pass it.

Unlimited plans compared

Every plan here runs for 30 days. Fibre and outdoor-unit plans also need installing, and the fees for that are in each provider’s section below.

Provider and plan Price Speed Full-speed data After that
Smile MaxiLite ₦15,000 Up to 8Mbps 60GB 1Mbps
FiberOne SmartHome, Lagos ₦17,604 Up to 30Mbps No cap FiberOne may slow very heavy use; no figure given
Glo Router Unlimited ₦19,999 Up to 30Mbps 110GB 2Mbps
ipNX Bronze Unlimited ₦22,253 20Mbps No cap ipNX says no throttling
Airtel SmartConnect ₦25,000 50Mbps Not stated Not stated
Spectranet Elite20, home fibre ₦25,000 Up to 20Mbps Not stated Fair usage applies; no figure given
Glo Router Unlimited ₦29,999 Up to 30Mbps 150GB 2Mbps
MTN FlyX 50 ₦30,000 Up to 50Mbps No cap MTN says no fair usage policy
MTN FibreX Basic ₦30,000 50Mbps No cap MTN says no fair usage policy
MTN router Silver ₦30,000 Not stated 150GB 2GB a day, for 20 days at most
Spectranet Diamond ₦30,000 Best effort 200GB 1Mbps
MTN router Gold ₦40,000 Up to 50Mbps 400GB 5Mbps
Airtel SmartConnect 100Mbps ₦45,000 100Mbps Not stated Not stated
MTN FlyX 100 ₦45,000 Up to 100Mbps No cap MTN says no fair usage policy
MTN router Ruby ₦45,000 Not stated 260GB 2GB a day, for 20 days at most
Starlink Residential ₦57,000 Not fixed No cap Heavy users may be slowed for a time when the network is busy
Smile Data Flux ₦61,500 Not stated No cap Smile may slow a user who affects others
MTN router Diamond ₦65,000 Up to 100Mbps 800GB 5Mbps

On a phone, there is none

MTN, Airtel, Glo and T2mobile (the new name for 9mobile) do not list an unlimited plan for an ordinary phone SIM. The largest 30-day bundles on their data pages are 250GB for ₦55,000 on MTN, 210GB for ₦40,000 on Airtel, 165GB for ₦30,000 on Glo and 118GB for ₦50,000 on T2. T2’s site has no unlimited plan of any kind.

The router plans cannot be borrowed for a phone either. Glo says its unlimited bundles are locked to the registered Glo router and will not work in a phone or a MiFi. For phone bundles, see our comparison of data plans on all four networks.

MTN: three kinds of unlimited

MTN sells unlimited data three ways, and they are not equal.

Router plans. These work on an MTN 4G or 5G router. MTN’s router plans page lists four, and each plan’s disclosure table spells out the limit.

Plan Price Limit After the limit
Silver ₦30,000 150GB 2GB credited each day, for a maximum of 20 days
Ruby ₦45,000 260GB 2GB credited each day, for a maximum of 20 days
Gold, up to 50Mbps ₦40,000 400GB Speed cut to 5Mbps
Diamond, up to 100Mbps ₦65,000 800GB Speed cut to 5Mbps

Silver and Ruby are capped plans with a daily allowance on top. The most Silver can deliver in a month is 150GB plus 20 days at 2GB, which is 190GB. Ruby tops out at 300GB. Gold and Diamond keep running at 5Mbps, which is two and a half times Glo’s fallback speed and five times Spectranet’s or Smile’s. MTN gives *312*500# and *461*1# as the codes for buying a router plan.

FlyX. FlyX uses an outdoor unit fixed to your building to pick up the MTN signal. It costs ₦30,000 for up to 50Mbps or ₦45,000 for up to 100Mbps, and MTN states that neither has a fair usage policy. The outdoor unit, indoor unit, power bank and installation are free with the first subscription. At ₦30,000 it is the same price as Silver with no 150GB ceiling, so where FlyX is offered there is no reason to buy Silver.

FibreX. MTN’s fibre service has five plans: 50Mbps for ₦30,000, 100Mbps for ₦45,000, 200Mbps for ₦70,000, 300Mbps for ₦100,000 and 1Gbps for ₦200,000. The router and installation are free, and MTN’s FAQ says these plans have no fair usage policy and are not slowed at peak hours.

Airtel: SmartConnect

The Airtel logo

Airtel’s home internet is called SmartConnect. The unlimited plans run on its 5G router or outdoor unit and on fibre. Its broadband page advertises unlimited plans from ₦25,000 with free installation. The plan list behind that page gives two speeds.

Speed 30 days 90 days 180 days
50Mbps ₦25,000 ₦67,500 ₦125,000
100Mbps ₦45,000 ₦121,500 ₦225,000

Paying for 90 days takes 10% off: ₦67,500 is ₦22,500 a month. Six months of the 50Mbps plan works out at ₦20,833 a month.

An FAQ answer on the same page mentions a 20Mbps plan at ₦20,000, but the plan list has nothing at that price.

Airtel’s site gives no fair-use figure for these plans. That is not the same as saying there is none, so ask in an Airtel shop before you pay for six months. To renew, Airtel’s FAQ gives *312*12# or the MyAirtel app.

Glo: router unlimited

Glo’s router bundles are the cheapest unlimited plans from a mobile network, and Glo is plain about the limit: full speed of up to 30Mbps until the cap, then 2Mbps until the plan expires.

Price Valid for Monthly limit After the limit
₦19,999 30 days 110GB 2Mbps
₦29,999 30 days 150GB 2Mbps
₦49,999 60 days 150GB 2Mbps
₦74,999 90 days 150GB 2Mbps
₦149,999 180 days 150GB 2Mbps

The Glo 4G router with its SIM costs ₦19,999 in Glo shops and comes with 14 days of unlimited data, capped at 100GB before the same 2Mbps applies. You renew with *312# from the router’s own line. Glo also offers fibre to the home and describes it as unlimited, but its site shows no prices and says the plans will come later. Its phone bundles are on our page of Glo data plans.

Spectranet and Smile

The Spectranet logo

Spectranet has two sorts of unlimited plan. The wireless ones have a stated limit and drop to 1Mbps after it: Diamond is ₦30,000 for 200GB, BigData is ₦45,000 for 400GB and MegaData is ₦60,000 for 550GB.

The Spectra Elite plans are home fibre, sold in Lagos and Abuja only, and are priced by speed: ₦17,000 for up to 7Mbps, ₦20,000 for 10Mbps, ₦25,000 for 20Mbps, ₦39,000 for 50Mbps and ₦60,000 for 100Mbps, with steps in between and above. Spectranet’s comparison table says fair usage applies to each one and gives no number. Paying quarterly takes 10% off. If you want to ask in person, we keep a list of Spectranet offices.

The Smile logo

Smile lists five plans under “Unlimited”, and four of them have a cap.

Plan Price Full-speed data After the limit
MaxiLite ₦15,000 60GB at up to 8Mbps 1Mbps
Maxi Essential ₦27,700 150GB at up to 8Mbps 1Mbps
Maxi Home ₦38,500 220GB at up to 5Mbps 1Mbps
Maxi Office ₦45,000 300GB at up to 8Mbps 1Mbps
Data Flux ₦61,500 No limit None stated

Smile’s terms allow one SIM and one device per plan, and reserve the right to reduce the speed of any user whose usage hurts other customers. That clause covers Data Flux too.

Fibre: FiberOne and ipNX

FiberOne prices by city. All its home plans are uncapped.

City Cheapest plan Top plan Installation from
Lagos 30Mbps for ₦17,604 220Mbps for ₦84,687 ₦77,250
Abuja 20Mbps for ₦18,428 100Mbps for ₦56,438 ₦97,500
Port Harcourt 20Mbps for ₦17,550 100Mbps for ₦53,750 ₦70,000
Ilorin 20Mbps for ₦13,194 50Mbps for ₦24,208 ₦47,500
Ibadan 20Mbps for ₦13,194 One plan only ₦47,500

In Lagos the steps between are 65Mbps for ₦28,705, 120Mbps for ₦44,003 and 160Mbps for ₦60,011. FiberOne’s fair use policy says the line is not throttled, shaped or capped, then reserves the right to shape or rate-limit excessive usage. It names no threshold.

ipNX sells six home plans, all labelled unlimited, and its page promises no data cap and no throttling: 20Mbps for ₦22,253, 30Mbps for ₦29,475, 60Mbps for ₦39,750, 100Mbps for ₦53,925, 150Mbps for ₦80,175 and 200Mbps for ₦106,425. Setup is ₦55,900 and each plan includes a phone line. ipNX’s website turns away automated visits, so these figures are from the most recent copy of its plans page in the Internet Archive. Confirm the price on the page itself before you order.

Starlink’s Residential plan is ₦57,000 a month in Nigeria with unlimited data. The hardware is the real cost: ₦590,000 for the standard kit or ₦318,000 for the Mini. Starlink’s Fair Use Policy sets no gigabyte limit, but says that if your use consistently exceeds a typical household’s it may temporarily reduce your speed to ease congestion. It works where no cable or mast reaches, which is the reason to pay that much.

What the limit costs you

Divide the price by the full-speed data and the plans line up differently.

Plan The sum Per GB at full speed
MTN Diamond ₦65,000 for 800GB ₦81
MTN Gold ₦40,000 for 400GB ₦100
Spectranet MegaData ₦60,000 for 550GB ₦109
Spectranet Diamond ₦30,000 for 200GB ₦150
Smile Maxi Home ₦38,500 for 220GB ₦175
Glo, ₦19,999 ₦19,999 for 110GB ₦182
MTN Silver ₦30,000 for 150GB ₦200
Smile MaxiLite ₦15,000 for 60GB ₦250

For scale, Airtel’s ordinary 100GB monthly bundle is ₦20,000, which is ₦200 a gigabyte, and when it finishes you are cut off. Glo’s ₦19,999 router plan gives 110GB and then keeps going at 2Mbps. A capped “unlimited” plan is still the better buy at the same price, as long as you have the router it is tied to.

The speed after the limit decides how painful it is. A 1GB download takes about 27 minutes at 5Mbps, an hour and 7 minutes at 2Mbps, and 2 hours 13 minutes at 1Mbps. MTN’s Gold and Diamond are the only capped plans here that fall back to 5Mbps.

Which one should you pick?

  • Fibre is available at your address: FiberOne if it covers you. Its 30Mbps Lagos plan costs ₦12,396 a month less than MTN FibreX’s 50Mbps, so the ₦77,250 installation fee is paid back in a little over six months. If you would rather pay nothing up front, FibreX installs free.
  • No fibre, good MTN signal: FlyX 50. It is the only wireless plan from a mobile network whose own page says there is no fair-use limit.
  • Lowest monthly bill: Glo’s ₦19,999 router plan, if 110GB covers your month and Glo’s 4G is strong where you live.
  • A heavy household without fibre: MTN Gold. 400GB is hard to finish, and the line stays at 5Mbps afterwards.
  • Tempted by Airtel’s ₦25,000: the price is good for 50Mbps, but get the fair-use terms in writing first, because Airtel’s site does not give them.
  • Outside the cities: Starlink, if the kit price is within reach.

What happened to the older plans

The 2019 version of this page listed Spectranet’s Unlimited Gold at ₦18,000, Smile’s Unlimited Premium at ₦19,800, three ntel plans and three Airtel packages at ₦10,000, ₦15,000 and ₦20,000. None of them is on its provider’s site today. ntel’s website now describes an infrastructure business and lists no retail data plans at all. Airtel’s ₦20,000 still buys 100GB, the old package’s fair-use limit, but it is now sold as what it always was: a 100GB bundle.

Quick answers

Which network has unlimited data in Nigeria?

MTN, Airtel and Glo all sell plans they call unlimited, but only for routers, outdoor units and fibre. T2mobile has none, and no network has one for a phone SIM.

What is the cheapest unlimited data plan in Nigeria?

FiberOne’s 20Mbps fibre plan at ₦13,194 a month in Ilorin and Ibadan. That is the lowest price we found. Among wireless plans, Smile MaxiLite is ₦15,000 but slows to 1Mbps after 60GB, and Glo’s router plan is ₦19,999 with a 110GB limit.

What is the code for the MTN unlimited data plan?

Dial *312*500# or *461*1# from the router’s line and choose a plan. The unlimited plans are for MTN routers, not phones.

Does Glo have unlimited data for phones?

No. Glo’s unlimited bundles work only in a registered Glo 4G router. Its largest phone plan is 165GB for ₦30,000.

What does FUP mean on an unlimited plan?

Fair usage policy. It is the amount of data you can use at full speed. Past it, the provider either slows the line, as Glo, Spectranet and Smile do, or hands out a small daily amount, as MTN does on Silver and Ruby.