Unlimited Data Plans in Nigeria and Their Real Limits (2026)
No Nigerian network sells unlimited data for a phone. Router and fibre plans start at ₦13,194 a month, and most slow down after a set number of gigabytes.
Take fibre where it reaches your street. FiberOne, ipNX and MTN FibreX each sell a month of home internet with no data cap, and FiberOne comes first if it covers you. Its 30Mbps Lagos plan, at ₦17,604, costs ₦12,396 a month less than MTN FibreX’s 50Mbps, so the ₦77,250 installation fee is paid back in a little over six months. FibreX installs free, for anyone who would rather pay nothing up front.
With no fibre and a good MTN signal, take FlyX 50, the only wireless plan from a mobile network whose own page says there is no fair-use limit. A heavy household without fibre does well on MTN Gold: 400GB is hard to finish, and the line stays at 5Mbps afterwards. The lowest monthly bill from a mobile network is Glo’s ₦19,999 router plan, provided 110GB covers your month and Glo’s 4G is strong where you live. Airtel’s ₦25,000 is a good price for 50Mbps, but get the fair-use terms in writing first, because Airtel’s site does not give them. Outside the cities there is Starlink, if the kit price is within reach.
On most router plans “unlimited” means full speed up to a set figure and a much slower line after it. That figure is the fair usage policy, or FUP, and it matters more than the price. Past it, the provider either slows the line, as Glo, Spectranet and Smile do, or hands out a small daily amount, as MTN does on Silver and Ruby.
On a phone, there is none
MTN, Airtel, Glo and T2mobile (the new name for 9mobile) do not list an unlimited plan for an ordinary phone SIM. MTN, Airtel and Glo keep the word for routers, outdoor units and fibre. T2’s site has no unlimited plan of any kind, and ntel’s website now describes an infrastructure business and lists no retail data plans at all.
The largest 30-day bundles on the networks’ data pages are 250GB for ₦55,000 on MTN, 210GB for ₦40,000 on Airtel, 165GB for ₦30,000 on Glo and 118GB for ₦50,000 on T2.
The router plans cannot be borrowed for a phone either. Glo says its unlimited bundles are locked to the registered Glo router and will not work in a phone or a MiFi. For phone bundles, see our comparison of data plans on all four networks.
Every unlimited plan by price
Every plan here runs for 30 days. Fibre and outdoor-unit plans also need installing, and the fees for that are in each provider’s section below.
| Provider and plan | Price | Speed | Full-speed data | After that |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smile MaxiLite | ₦15,000 | Up to 8Mbps | 60GB | 1Mbps |
| FiberOne SmartHome, Lagos | ₦17,604 | Up to 30Mbps | No cap | FiberOne may slow very heavy use; no figure given |
| Glo Router Unlimited | ₦19,999 | Up to 30Mbps | 110GB | 2Mbps |
| ipNX Bronze Unlimited | ₦22,253 | 20Mbps | No cap | ipNX says no throttling |
| Airtel SmartConnect | ₦25,000 | 50Mbps | Not stated | Not stated |
| Spectranet Elite20, home fibre | ₦25,000 | Up to 20Mbps | Not stated | Fair usage applies; no figure given |
| Glo Router Unlimited | ₦29,999 | Up to 30Mbps | 150GB | 2Mbps |
| MTN FlyX 50 | ₦30,000 | Up to 50Mbps | No cap | MTN says no fair usage policy |
| MTN FibreX Basic | ₦30,000 | 50Mbps | No cap | MTN says no fair usage policy |
| MTN router Silver | ₦30,000 | Not stated | 150GB | 2GB a day, for 20 days at most |
| Spectranet Diamond | ₦30,000 | Best effort | 200GB | 1Mbps |
| MTN router Gold | ₦40,000 | Up to 50Mbps | 400GB | 5Mbps |
| Airtel SmartConnect 100Mbps | ₦45,000 | 100Mbps | Not stated | Not stated |
| MTN FlyX 100 | ₦45,000 | Up to 100Mbps | No cap | MTN says no fair usage policy |
| MTN router Ruby | ₦45,000 | Not stated | 260GB | 2GB a day, for 20 days at most |
| Starlink Residential | ₦57,000 | Not fixed | No cap | Heavy users may be slowed for a time when the network is busy |
| Smile Data Flux | ₦61,500 | Not stated | No cap | Smile may slow a user who affects others |
| MTN router Diamond | ₦65,000 | Up to 100Mbps | 800GB | 5Mbps |
The lowest price of all is FiberOne’s 20Mbps fibre plan at ₦13,194 a month, in Ilorin and Ibadan. Among wireless plans, Smile MaxiLite is ₦15,000 but slows to 1Mbps after 60GB.
What the limit costs you
Divide the price by the full-speed data and the plans line up differently.
| Plan | The sum | Per GB at full speed |
|---|---|---|
| MTN Diamond | ₦65,000 for 800GB | ₦81 |
| MTN Gold | ₦40,000 for 400GB | ₦100 |
| Spectranet MegaData | ₦60,000 for 550GB | ₦109 |
| Spectranet Diamond | ₦30,000 for 200GB | ₦150 |
| Smile Maxi Home | ₦38,500 for 220GB | ₦175 |
| Glo, ₦19,999 | ₦19,999 for 110GB | ₦182 |
| MTN Silver | ₦30,000 for 150GB | ₦200 |
| Smile MaxiLite | ₦15,000 for 60GB | ₦250 |
For scale, Airtel’s ordinary 100GB monthly bundle is ₦20,000, which is ₦200 a gigabyte, and when it finishes you are cut off. Glo’s ₦19,999 router plan gives 110GB and then keeps going at 2Mbps. A capped “unlimited” plan is still the better buy at the same price, as long as you have the router it is tied to.
The speed after the limit decides how painful it is. A 1GB download takes about 27 minutes at 5Mbps, an hour and 7 minutes at 2Mbps, and 2 hours 13 minutes at 1Mbps. MTN’s Gold and Diamond are the only capped plans here that fall back to 5Mbps.
MTN: three kinds of unlimited
MTN’s router plans page lists four plans for an MTN 4G or 5G router, and each plan’s disclosure table spells out the limit. Silver and Ruby are capped plans with a daily allowance on top: past the limit, 2GB is credited each day for a maximum of 20 days. The most Silver can deliver in a month is 150GB plus 20 days at 2GB, which is 190GB. Ruby tops out at 300GB. Gold and Diamond keep running at 5Mbps, which is two and a half times Glo’s fallback speed and five times Spectranet’s or Smile’s. From the router’s line, dial *312*500# or *461*1# and choose a plan.
FlyX uses an outdoor unit fixed to your building to pick up the MTN signal. It costs ₦30,000 for up to 50Mbps or ₦45,000 for up to 100Mbps, and MTN states that neither has a fair usage policy. The outdoor unit, indoor unit, power bank and installation are free with the first subscription. At ₦30,000 it is the same price as Silver with no 150GB ceiling, so where FlyX is offered there is no reason to buy Silver.
MTN’s fibre service, FibreX, has five plans: 50Mbps for ₦30,000, 100Mbps for ₦45,000, 200Mbps for ₦70,000, 300Mbps for ₦100,000 and 1Gbps for ₦200,000. The router and installation are free, and MTN’s FAQ says these plans have no fair usage policy and are not slowed at peak hours.
Airtel SmartConnect and its missing limit

SmartConnect is Airtel’s home internet. The unlimited plans run on its 5G router or outdoor unit and on fibre. Its broadband page advertises unlimited plans from ₦25,000 with free installation, and the plan list behind that page gives two speeds.
| Speed | 30 days | 90 days | 180 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| 50Mbps | ₦25,000 | ₦67,500 | ₦125,000 |
| 100Mbps | ₦45,000 | ₦121,500 | ₦225,000 |
Paying for 90 days takes 10% off: ₦67,500 is ₦22,500 a month. Six months of the 50Mbps plan works out at ₦20,833 a month. An FAQ answer on the same page mentions a 20Mbps plan at ₦20,000, but the plan list has nothing at that price.
Airtel’s site gives no fair-use figure for these plans. That is not the same as saying there is none, so ask in an Airtel shop before you pay for six months. To renew, Airtel’s FAQ gives *312*12# or the MyAirtel app.
Glo: full speed to the cap, then 2Mbps
Glo’s router bundles are the cheapest unlimited plans from a mobile network, and Glo is plain about the limit: full speed of up to 30Mbps until the cap, then 2Mbps until the plan expires.
| Price | Valid for | Monthly limit | After the limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| ₦19,999 | 30 days | 110GB | 2Mbps |
| ₦29,999 | 30 days | 150GB | 2Mbps |
| ₦49,999 | 60 days | 150GB | 2Mbps |
| ₦74,999 | 90 days | 150GB | 2Mbps |
| ₦149,999 | 180 days | 150GB | 2Mbps |
The Glo 4G router with its SIM costs ₦19,999 in Glo shops and comes with 14 days of unlimited data, capped at 100GB before the same 2Mbps applies. You renew with *312# from the router’s own line. Glo also offers fibre to the home and describes it as unlimited, but its site shows no prices and says the plans will come later. Its phone bundles are on our page of Glo data plans.
Spectranet: wireless caps and home fibre

Spectranet’s wireless plans have a stated limit and drop to 1Mbps after it: Diamond is ₦30,000 for 200GB, BigData is ₦45,000 for 400GB and MegaData is ₦60,000 for 550GB.
The Spectra Elite plans are home fibre, sold in Lagos and Abuja only, and are priced by speed: ₦17,000 for up to 7Mbps, ₦20,000 for 10Mbps, ₦25,000 for 20Mbps, ₦39,000 for 50Mbps and ₦60,000 for 100Mbps, with steps in between and above. Spectranet’s comparison table says fair usage applies to each one and gives no number. Paying quarterly takes 10% off. If you want to ask in person, we keep a list of Spectranet offices.
Smile: four caps in five plans

Smile lists five plans under “Unlimited”, and four of them have a cap.
| Plan | Price | Full-speed data | After the limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| MaxiLite | ₦15,000 | 60GB at up to 8Mbps | 1Mbps |
| Maxi Essential | ₦27,700 | 150GB at up to 8Mbps | 1Mbps |
| Maxi Home | ₦38,500 | 220GB at up to 5Mbps | 1Mbps |
| Maxi Office | ₦45,000 | 300GB at up to 8Mbps | 1Mbps |
| Data Flux | ₦61,500 | No limit | None stated |
Smile’s terms allow one SIM and one device per plan, and reserve the right to reduce the speed of any user whose usage hurts other customers. That clause covers Data Flux too.
Fibre from FiberOne and ipNX
FiberOne prices by city. All its home plans are uncapped.
| City | Cheapest plan | Top plan | Installation from |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lagos | 30Mbps for ₦17,604 | 220Mbps for ₦84,687 | ₦77,250 |
| Abuja | 20Mbps for ₦18,428 | 100Mbps for ₦56,438 | ₦97,500 |
| Port Harcourt | 20Mbps for ₦17,550 | 100Mbps for ₦53,750 | ₦70,000 |
| Ilorin | 20Mbps for ₦13,194 | 50Mbps for ₦24,208 | ₦47,500 |
| Ibadan | 20Mbps for ₦13,194 | One plan only | ₦47,500 |
In Lagos the steps between are 65Mbps for ₦28,705, 120Mbps for ₦44,003 and 160Mbps for ₦60,011. FiberOne’s fair use policy says the line is not throttled, shaped or capped, then reserves the right to shape or rate-limit excessive usage. It names no threshold.
ipNX sells six home plans, all labelled unlimited, and its page promises no data cap and no throttling: 20Mbps for ₦22,253, 30Mbps for ₦29,475, 60Mbps for ₦39,750, 100Mbps for ₦53,925, 150Mbps for ₦80,175 and 200Mbps for ₦106,425. Setup is ₦55,900 and each plan includes a phone line. These figures are from the Internet Archive’s most recent copy of its plans page, so check the price on the page itself before you order.
Starlink and the price of its kit
Starlink’s Residential plan is ₦57,000 a month in Nigeria with unlimited data. The hardware is the real cost: ₦590,000 for the standard kit or ₦318,000 for the Mini. Starlink’s Fair Use Policy sets no gigabyte limit, but says that if your use consistently exceeds a typical household’s it may temporarily reduce your speed to ease congestion. It works where no cable or mast reaches, which is the reason to pay that much.