Best Rugged Phones: Ratings, Batteries and Prices
Samsung's XCover7 Pro is about $600 and a 25,500mAh Ulefone about $650. Cat phones are gone. The IP and MIL-STD claims, in each maker's own words.
For most people the pick is the Samsung Galaxy XCover7 Pro at about $600: a big-brand phone with a battery you can swap yourself. If battery size is the whole point, the Chinese specialists go much further, up to a 33,000mAh Oukitel at about $430. And if you only need a phone that survives rain and a drop, the $400 Moto G Power 2026 carries IP68, IP69 and MIL-STD-810H ratings of its own.
Cat phones, the best-known rugged name, are gone. More on that below.
The 2021 version of this page listed the Blackview BL6000 Pro, the Ulefone Armor 9 and Armor 11 5G, the Doogee S96 Pro and the Blackview BV9900 Pro. None of the five is on its maker’s store today, so the list is new. We have not handled these phones. The ratings below are quoted as each maker gives them.
Some links on this page go to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Rugged phones compared
Prices are from each maker’s own store or page, rounded. Where a cell says not stated, we found no such claim in the text of the maker’s page.
| Phone | Maker’s price | Water and dust | MIL-STD claim | Battery |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samsung Galaxy XCover7 Pro | about $600 | IP68 | MIL-STD-810H | 4,350mAh, replaceable |
| Kyocera DuraForce Pro 3 | about $900 | IP68 rated | MIL-STD-810H tested | 4,270mAh |
| Sonim XP Pro | not published | IP68 and IPX9K | MIL-STD-810H rating | 5,000mAh |
| Ulefone Armor 34 Pro | about $650 | IP68 and IP69K | MIL-STD-810H Certification | 25,500mAh |
| Ulefone Armor 24 Pro | about $360 | IP68 and IP69K | MIL-STD-810H certification | 22,000mAh |
| Oukitel WP500 | about $680 | IP68, IP69K | MIL-STD-810H certifications | 10,000mAh |
| Oukitel WP100 Plus | about $430 | IP68 / IP69K | not stated | 33,000mAh |
| AGM X7 | about $400 | IP68/IP69K | MIL-STD-810H | 10,000mAh |
| Unihertz Tank 4 Pro | about $710 | IP68 and IP69K | not stated | 11,600mAh |
| Moto G Power 2026 | about $400 | IP68/IP69 | MIL-STD-810H | 5,200mAh |
What the ratings mean
IP68 is about dust and standing water. Samsung defines its rating as up to 1.5 metres of fresh water for up to 30 minutes. Ulefone’s spec list gives the same depth and time for the Armor 34 Pro. Kyocera says 6.5 feet for 30 minutes, and Sonim says 6.5 feet for 60.
IP69 and IP69K are about hot, high-pressure water jets. Motorola describes its IP69 test as powerful, high-temperature jets for up to 30 seconds.
MIL-STD-810H is the loosest of the three. It is a US military method for testing gear, and the maker chooses which tests to run. Samsung’s own footnote says test specifications vary by device. Motorola says the Moto G Power was tested against 16 categories and 14 procedures, and adds that the testing is no guarantee and that such abuse is not covered by its standard warranty. Kyocera is the most specific: drops of up to 5 feet onto concrete.
So read “MIL-STD-810H” as “some tests were passed”, and look for the maker that says which.
Samsung rugged phone
Galaxy XCover7 Pro, about $600
Samsung’s US business site has an XCover page, and the phone it sells there is the XCover7 Pro, unlocked with 128GB. The other rugged name in its menu is the Galaxy Tab Active5, a tablet, which is where the old Active name now lives.
Samsung Newsroom’s spec sheet gives a 6.6-inch Full HD+ LCD at 120Hz, a Snapdragon 7s Gen 3 chip, a 50MP main camera with an 8MP ultra-wide, and a 4,350mAh battery marked user replaceable. Spare batteries are sold separately. Samsung also says the screen can be set to respond through leather gloves up to 2mm thick.
The battery is small beside the others here. The answer is the swap: carry a second one. This is the phone to buy if you want a known brand behind it. Samsung Galaxy XCover7 Pro on Amazon
Rugged phones for Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile
Kyocera DuraForce Pro 3, about $900
Kyocera still makes rugged phones and says all its devices are made in Japan with a two-year warranty. The DuraForce Pro 3 is the Verizon one: Kyocera gives an MSRP of $899.99 and says it is in Verizon stores. It has a 5.38-inch OLED screen, a Snapdragon 7 Gen 1 chip, Android 15 and a 4,270mAh battery. You are paying for the carrier certification and the drop claim, not the parts. Kyocera DuraForce Pro 3 on Amazon
Sonim XP Pro
Sonim publishes no price. Its phones are set up for carriers: its site has user guides for the AT&T and T-Mobile versions and a separate XP10 for Verizon. What Sonim does publish is the strongest warranty here: three years, covering accidental damage. It claims the XP Pro survives 6.5-foot drops onto concrete. The battery is 5,000mAh and the software is Android 14.
Unlocked phones and US carriers
- Moto G Power 2026: Motorola’s spec sheet marks AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon as compatible.
- AGM X7: AGM sells two versions, and it labels the US one “T-Mobile Only”.
- Unihertz Tank 4 Pro: Unihertz lists T-Mobile and Verizon. It says its phones are not Verizon-certified, so the SIM has to be activated in another phone first, and that AT&T works only with whitelisted Unihertz models, naming the Jelly 2 and Titan 2. It also refuses returns over carrier problems.
Rugged phones with long battery life
Oukitel WP100 Plus, about $430
The largest battery among the phones we checked: 33,000mAh, with a 1,200-lumen camping light on the back. Oukitel gives the weight as 784g, nearly four times the Moto G Power, and it is a 4G phone. It is a power bank that takes calls. Buy it for a week off-grid, not for a pocket. Oukitel WP100 Plus on Amazon
Ulefone Armor 34 Pro, about $650
A 25,500mAh battery that Ulefone says lasts ten days, with 5G, a Dimensity 7300 chip, a 6.95-inch 120Hz screen, a 64MP night-vision camera and a built-in projector. Its spec sheet lists all three ratings, IP68, IP69K and MIL-STD-810H, which the page for the bigger Oukitel does not. Ulefone Armor 34 Pro on Amazon
Ulefone Armor 24 Pro, about $360
The value pick. A 22,000mAh battery, the same three ratings and Android 16 for a little over half the price of the 34 Pro. The chip is a MediaTek Helio G200, a step down. Ulefone Armor 24 Pro on Amazon
AGM X7, about $400
AGM lists a 10,000mAh battery with wireless charging, 5G on a MediaTek Dimensity 7300, a 6.72-inch 120Hz screen, Android 16 and eSIM. It is the cheapest 5G phone here from the specialist makers. Mind the T-Mobile-only US version. AGM X7 on Amazon
Oukitel WP500 and Unihertz Tank 4 Pro
Both use the faster Dimensity 8300 chip. The WP500, about $680, has a 10,000mAh battery and Android 16, and Oukitel claims 1.5-metre drops and use from -45°C to 75°C. The Tank 4 Pro, about $710, has an 11,600mAh battery, a sharp 6.73-inch AMOLED screen and a projector, weighs 530g and runs Android 15. Unihertz Tank 4 Pro on Amazon
A normal phone that is tough enough
The Moto G Power 2026 costs about $400 on Motorola’s US store. Motorola rates it IP68 and IP69, cites MIL-STD-810H and fits Gorilla Glass 7i, with a 5,200mAh battery in a 208g body. It will not run for a week or take a second battery. For a phone that lives in a van or a coat pocket, it is the sensible buy, and it is in our list of Chinese-made phones under $500. Moto G Power 2026 on Amazon
What happened to Cat phones
Cat phones were made by Bullitt Group, a British company, and its old corporate site still describes them as its work. The UK’s Companies House register shows that company going into administration on 28 February 2024 and being dissolved on 4 June 2025.
The Cat phones website no longer loads. Bullitt’s name survives at bullitt.com as a satellite messaging service that pairs with the phone you already have. That site says no new handset is required.
There may be a second act. A partner of the US phone maker Orbic said in a March 2025 press release that Orbic had shown Cat-branded rugged phones and would make and sell them. Orbic’s own US store lists none. Until a maker’s store has one, a Cat phone sold as new on a marketplace is most likely old stock from a company that no longer exists to support it.
The other specialists
Doogee and Blackview are both still trading. Doogee’s store has the V40 Pro at about $660 with an 8,680mAh battery, but the text of its page calls the phone water-resistant and dustproof without naming a rating. Blackview’s store has the XPLORE 1 Pro, a 5G phone with a 20,000mAh battery and a thermal camera, at about $355, and a new XPLORE 6 on pre-order at over $1,000.
Thermal cameras and tight budgets
Thermal cameras start lower than the rest of this page suggests. Blackview’s store has the 4G ROCK 3 at about $310 and the 5G XPLORE 1 Pro at about $355, both sold as thermal imaging phones. AGM’s Glory Pro is about $460 and its X7 Pro about $600. Ulefone’s Armor 29 Pro Thermal is about $800 and Oukitel’s WP500 Ultra about $850.
At the other end, Ulefone’s Armor X12 Pro is about $165 and still carries IP68, IP69K and MIL-STD-810H claims, on a basic Helio G36 chip.
Many searches from India ask for a rugged phone under ₹20,000, which is about $210. That entry level is all these makers offer at the price, in US dollars before shipping and import duty, and we could not confirm delivery to India from their stores. Check before ordering.
Which to pick
- One phone for work, known brand: Samsung Galaxy XCover7 Pro.
- On Verizon: Kyocera DuraForce Pro 3.
- Longest warranty: Sonim XP Pro, through AT&T or T-Mobile.
- Days away from a socket: Ulefone Armor 34 Pro, or the Oukitel WP100 Plus if weight does not matter.
- Least money for a big battery: Ulefone Armor 24 Pro.
- You just drop things: Moto G Power 2026.
Quick answers
What is the best rugged phone?
For most buyers the Samsung Galaxy XCover7 Pro, at about $600 with a replaceable battery. For battery life, the Ulefone Armor 34 Pro at about $650.
Does Samsung make a rugged phone?
Yes. Samsung’s US business store sells the Galaxy XCover7 Pro, rated IP68 and MIL-STD-810H.
Are Cat phones still made?
Not by the company that made them. Bullitt Group went into administration in February 2024 and was dissolved in June 2025, and the Cat phones website no longer loads.
Which rugged phone has the longest battery life?
By capacity, the Oukitel WP100 Plus at 33,000mAh, then the Ulefone Armor 34 Pro at 25,500mAh and the Armor 24 Pro at 22,000mAh.
Which rugged phones work with Verizon?
The Kyocera DuraForce Pro 3 is sold in Verizon stores, and Sonim makes an XP10 for Verizon. Motorola lists the Moto G Power 2026 as Verizon-compatible.
Prices move, so confirm on the maker’s store before you pay.